Lessons Learned from Machu Picchu – Part 1

Posted on Updated on

I know that most of you would not even think about doing such a thing as climbing a mountain.  Nevertheless, you can step out of your comfort zone by doing one thing that you have never done before.  Even better, do one thing that you have always wanted to do but unrealistic fear has prevented you from doing it.

SAM_0753

This is what I did in the early part of July.  Wanting to step out of my comfort zone, I undertook the exciting venture of hiking the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu in Peru.  According to the itinerary supplied by G Adventures, the tour group I went with, the 4-day hike is “physically challenging but worthwhile.”  It was also “within the ability of most reasonably fit.”

Well, I like to class myself as physically fit, plus I enjoy hiking up and down hills and mountains.  So off I ventured, knowing that I was quite fit and able to endure to the very end.  Boy was I wrong.

Climbing or, in my case, hiking a mountain is a challenge.  Your expectations at the beginning of the journey are often immense.  The adrenaline is flowing and you feel you can conquer anything.  It is as you continue to ascent up, and the way gets steeper, that you realize how small and insignificant you are in comparison to the big, beautiful mountain you think you can conquer.

SAM_0740

You learn a lot when you climb a mountain.  You learn even more if you are unable to finish and have to come down defeated.  That’s right I did not finish the 4-day hike.  In fact, due to a number of things, including altitude sickness, I came back down on the second day.  Needless to say I was not too thrilled, but I had accomplished an extraordinary goal and it not only lifted my confidence and boosted my self-esteem, but it let me know that change is possible if you give it a chance.

mountains everywhere

So, I am back and I’m here to let you know that you can eliminate unrealistic fear from your life.  You can Kick Fear Now by taking one action step after another.  That’s what I have been trying to do myself and it is what I am encouraging each one of you to do for yourself, even if you only accomplish one small action at a time.  Yes, there will be setbacks along the way but it does not mean you give up.  Instead, you just find another way to complete your goal.

SAM_0810

One of the things I learned from my climb up the Inca Trail is that you can’t go up a mountain and not come down without a revelation.  For many people it is a spiritual revelation, for others, a physical or mental revelation. The fact is the journey is yours.  When you begin, only you know what you want to accomplish.  Your experience is yours alone.  Your revelation will open your eyes to the person you really are capable of being.

Removing unrealistic fear from your life is much like hiking a mountain.  Conquering it begins with taking the first step. So find your mountain today, whatever your unrealistic fear is, and walk out of your comfort zone.  You may be in for a big surprise.

One thought on “Lessons Learned from Machu Picchu – Part 1

    Michelle said:
    August 28, 2013 at 11:14 PM

    Congratulations on both the climb and the blog!

Leave a Reply

