How to Use Your Bucket List to Kick Fear Now

Posted on

 

My girlfriend just called me from Florida and said, “Pange, we’ve got to go to a Polo match. I’ve never been to one before and I want to cross it off my bucket list.”

“Interesting,” I said to her.  “Did you know that a bucket list is a list of things that a person wants to accomplish before they die? Or to use the correct phrase, before they kick the bucket?”

I knew this because all week I have been churning in my mind what I was going to write in this post.  Dana Sitar, author of A Writer’s Bucket List, has proposed a Bucket List Challenge Blog Hop to celebrate the launch of her new book.  All I have to do is answer the question, “What will you cross off your Bucket List in 2013?”

Bucket List Blog Hop Badge

I had never heard the term “bucket list” used before I saw the movie with the same title, starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman.  Growing up in London, England I was quite familiar with the phrase because people were always “kicking the bucket.” Whether or not they had made a list of things before they did so, I really don’t know.

I did know something about planning for the future.  I knew about goals, dreams, desires and aspirations, but no bucket list.  I knew about what I wanted to be when I grew up.  Of course, I’m grown up now and certainly am not doing that at all.  Well not exactly.  I even put together my 100 goals that I want to accomplish during my life time but there was no emphasis, while I was writing, at least I don’t think so, about doing them before I kicked the bucket.

Many people would never dream of putting together a bucket list.  That, after all, would be tempting fate.  But when you think about it putting together that B-List is one sure way of facing your fears.  It’s your way of telling those unrealistic fears that you are not afraid of the unknown.  You are ready for a change and you are going to live life to the fullest.

Your bucket list will push you from just existing with no goals, no dreams, and no future.  It will show you a world full of possibilities.  It will also give you the determination and courage to believe, and accept, that a bright future awaits you.  There is something that happens when you write down your goals and visualize yourself accomplishing them.  They will keep you focused and remind you that success is within reach if you push yourself toward reaching those goals.

Facing your fears is not easy but it can be done.  Even if you only do one thing on that bucket list, the fact that you went on the journey of doing something, is an achievement that can be celebrated.  As for me, I’ve learned to accept that my journey of life has both joys and pains.  Somethings I set out to do I will accomplish, others, I won’t.  Despite that, I will not let unrealistic fear stop me from trying my best.

Mountains at Cuzco, Peru

Therefore, in answer to Dana’s question, I will be climbing a mountain in 2013.  I thought it would be Mt. Kilimanjaro, but that is for another time.  Instead, I am going after the next best thing and will tackle the mountains at Cuzco, Peru.  I will be hiking a 4-day, 25 mile, 3 high passes crossing the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu.  The trail is often steep and one of the passes reaches an elevation of 13,776 ft.  Hopefully this adventure will propel me into completing my next book Mountain Move Out of My Way.  If I succeed in this endeavor trust me, you will be the first to know.

So what about you?  Have you put together your bucket list yet?  If not, and you need help in doing so, then visit Dana Sitar’s Blog Hop Page @http://writersbucketlist.com/challenge and see what some other bloggers are going to cross of their bucket list in 2013.  Perhaps you will be inspired to do something too.

 

7 thoughts on “How to Use Your Bucket List to Kick Fear Now

    Dana Sitar said:
    February 10, 2013 at 3:53 AM

    The ultimate Bucket List item, Pangeline! Good for you 😉 This sounds like a beautiful adventure, and I look forward to reading all about it.

    kittyb78 said:
    February 10, 2013 at 4:58 AM

    What an inspiring post. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Willi said:
    February 10, 2013 at 3:05 PM

    Wow! What an incredible goal. Love it, because I’m a sucker for travel. 🙂

    Lissa Clouser said:
    February 11, 2013 at 1:02 AM

    Dropping by from the blog hop… You have set one amazing goal for this year!! I wish you the best of luck in achieving it! =)

      Pangeline Edwards responded:
      February 13, 2013 at 12:16 AM

      Thank you Lissa. I am excited about this one. July 7 cannot come around quick enough.

    Rebekah Loper said:
    February 14, 2013 at 3:57 AM

    Oooh, that is going to be such an experience! I’ve always had a bit of a fascination with the Incans, so I may have to add this to my own bucket list, though it definitely won’t happen this year, lol.

    Estrella Azul said:
    February 23, 2013 at 8:14 PM

    Now that is a wonderful item to be added, and then get crossed off your bucket list! *rooting for you*
    I like how you are using the bucket list to kick fear in the behind. I haven’t thought of it like that before, but how, are you spot on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

