December is Decision Month

Posted on Updated on

Photograph by Just1Thought

“The roads we take are more important than the goals we announce.
Decisions determine destiny”. ~ Frederick Speakman

Many of us wait until January 1st to start putting together the list of the all the things we want to accomplish in the New Year.  Sometimes, with a wing and a prayer, we say to ourselves this is what I want to happen, not realizing that goals require plans and many times those plans require a lot of thought.

If you want to be successful in the goals you set down you have to put together a plan of action.  December is a good time to do this.  Despite all the hustle and chaos, decorations and trimmings, parties and  presents, there will also be plenty of time for quiet reflection.  So why not use this time wisely to think about what you want to accomplish in 2013.  The things you did not get to in 2012 are a good start.

Think about why you did not cross that one of your list.  For example, I did not climb Mt. Kilimanjaro.  Ask yourself why it did not happen.  In my case, despite my calculations and efforts, I was unable to put together the finances for this great task.  Nevertheless, I did not give up preparing and planning.  So now, in 2013 this goal goes back on the list, takes priority number and also challenges me to be more creative if I want to cross this item of the list.

December is decision month, for me at least.  I refuse to leave my destiny up to chance. Today, I take action because tomorrow is not promised to me.  I will look at the choices I have and make some good decisions. What about you?

Leave a Reply

